Thinking of Mora…

Reminiscing the time spent as an undergrad

Rochelle Silva
3 min readNov 2, 2020
Photo by author (University of Moratuwa, May 2018)

I was talking about the beautiful flowering trees in the University of Moratuwa with a friend today. Despite being thousands of miles away, my heart still travels backs to “Mora” (the short name by which we fondly call our university).

Once, one of my friends remarked, “how much you enjoyed undergrad life depends on the number of crushes you had” (I think it was Ama who said that).

I agree. It could be crushing for a person, a club, a place or an experience even. Those beautiful memories bring a smile to my face.

I remember a song.

“මේ නගරය මා ඔබ මුණගැසුනු නගරයයි…
මේ නගරය මා ඔබ වෙන් කෙරුනු නගරයයි…”
“This is the city where we met
This is the city which split us apart”

I wonder how many think of this song as they passed by those dreamy trees at the campus. They bloom each year and see so many meeting up, so many splitting up. I wonder how many stories they would tell if they can speak…

Speaking of trees, let me share a few of the most beautiful photos I have taken during my time at Mora. I was lucky I got to spend five years; four as an undergrad and one as a staff member.

--

--

Rochelle Silva

PhD grad from NTU 🇸🇬| Logophile | Artist | Coffee Lover | Sri Lankan | https://linktr.ee/rochellesilva | Buy me a ☕https://bit.ly/399XKRX