Researcher Spotlight: An Interview With Malsha Samarasiri

Reflections on researching as an undergraduate

Rochelle Silva
15 min readJun 11, 2021
Design by Rochelle Silva

1. Tell me a bit about yourself.

I am Malsha Samarasiri, a first-year PhD student in the School of Chemical and Biomedical Engineering, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore with a focus on food processing research. I graduated from the University of Moratuwa, Sri Lanka with a first-class honours degree in 2018. My major was Chemical and Process Engineering and my focus area was Food and Biochemical Engineering. After graduating, I worked as a Business Systems Analyst at IFS R&D International (IFS) (Pvt) Ltd, Colombo, and then I worked as a lecturer in the Department of Chemical and Process Engineering, University of Moratuwa. I did my industrial training in GlaxoSmithKline Pharmaceuticals (GSK) (Pvt) Ltd, Moratuwa. I was a senior editor of the Chemical Engineering Students Society (ChESS), the University of Moratuwa in 2018. I love to do painting and listen to songs from various cultures. Watching TV series and movies is my main hobby. I was a yoga and karate practitioner in YMCA, Moratuwa. Travelling to foreign countries and experiencing different cultures is very pleasurable for me.

2. Can you tell me about the research component you had in your curriculum?

--

--

Rochelle Silva

PhD grad from NTU 🇸🇬| Logophile | Artist | Coffee Lover | Sri Lankan | https://linktr.ee/rochellesilva | Buy me a ☕https://bit.ly/399XKRX